Hall of Fame

Hurricane Harvey may have carried away the hanger doors, but members of the Third Coast Squadron will still honor four Coastal Bend veterans during a Hall of Fame Awards ceremony this Saturday, September 23, 2017 beginning at 2:00 p.m. The ceremony is free and open to the public at the Museum of Military History, located on the Porter-McCampbell Airport at 3201 FM 3521, Aransas Pass, TX.

The 2017 Hall of Fame Award honorees are: Major General Angela Salinas, USMC (Ret), a native of Alice, TX; Lt. Col. Dick Cole, USAAF (Ret) of Comfort, TX; Lt. Joe Sasserman, US (Ret) of Corpus Christi, TX and Andrew Adams, Senior CPO Master Diver USN (Ret) of Ingleside, TX.  These veterans have shown exemplary service to our Country and are being honored for their service

The Hall of Fame honors the service and sacrifices of our veterans from the Coast Bend Area of South Texas. The Squadron accepts nominees to the Hall of Fame from family, friends and other interested people of veterans who have served our country. Each nominee’s information is submitted to the Squadron’s Hall of Fame Committee which reviews the submitted information, makes its selection and presents the nominees to the Squadron Staff for approval.

The selected nominees will be honored during a formal ceremony in the hangar and awarded a personalized plaque. The nominee, a family member or friend will have the opportunity to give a speech about the nominee. A duplicate plaque will be hung in the Museum of Military History on the Hall of Fame Wall.

Following the ceremony, the Museum of Military History will be open. Visitors will be able to view the Hall of Fame Wall as well as the many other exhibits.

The Third Coast Squadron members hope Coastal Bend residents and visitors join them in putting Hurricane Harvey out of mind for a few hours while they join in this celebration